Eight of Cong’s 11 Goa MLAs break away, merge with BJP

Eight months after they did a run of a temple, a chapel and a mosque taking vows not to defect from Congress and even signing an affidavit pledging their loyalty to the party, eight of the 11 Congress MLAs “merged” the Goa Congress Legislature Party into BJP on Wednesday, taking the saffron party’s strength alone to 28 in the 40-member House.